When you create a new report in report builder, you are the only person who can access that report.
Reporting -> Report builder
Find the report you want to share then click on the 'Actions' button followed by Share.
Here you will see the permissions screen for this report. Permissions (sharing) means you still keep just one copy of your report but multiple people can access the report. You can choose to give those people (or user groups) either view access or editor access or a combination of both.
After adding the user group or individual as a Viewer, click on 'Update permissions' and you will see the Report permission updated! banner.
If you try to share a report where any of the recipients are not allowed to view that data source you will get an error as they would never be able to see that report, in this case you will need to return to the Report builder permissions option and add the user group you want to share the report with:
In this example, Facilities users will be able to view this report but will not be able to edit, delete or share it. Administrators will be able to edit and delete and, any change they make, will then be reflected to those who are accessing that shared report. A facilities user would see something like the below with only the action available to view the report.
When anyone from HR level down access a report (either as the builder or when shared with them), they will only ever see the employees they have permissions to see, in the case of a Manager, the employees that report to them.
You can also copy or duplicate your report. In this instance, your report gets copied in its entirety but it creates a new totally independent version of the report with no connection to the original, so users can make changes to their report without impacting any other users' report:
You will also get an error if you try to copy the report without first giving the Facilities group permissions to access reports based on the data source.
If there is no error, a facilities user will see this view from their reporting option, they will see a copy of the 'master' report that they can only view, but they now also have a report that they can view, edit and also share (as long as the individual has permissions to view the data source the report is based on).
If the user group you are sharing the report with have access to the data source but field restrictions have been applied, ( via Administration -> Company -> Settings -> Display settings -> Manager views )
then how this is dealt with, depends on the restricted field or fields are used within the report context.
For example, if you are sharing a report with Managers and that report has the National Insurance field included, but managers are not able to view this field, you will still be able to share the report, but the manager will not see the restricted field(s) when they view the report. This is the Administrators' view:
And this is the Manager's view i.e. all the fields are shown with the exception of National Insurance:
Note: When sharing reports with restricted fields, and the restricted field is used for a group, aggregate, sort or filter, you will not be able to share the report at all as, doing so, would be meaningless as the report would lose all context.
In this example the report is grouped by National Insurance number, the Administrator has no field restrictions:
But the Manager will see this error if they try to view the 'master' report.
If you try to share or copy a report to a a user group with restricted fields then you will see this error: