When setting up a HR-level user within Natural HR, it is possible to reduce the level of access given to these users based on various options.
If left unrestricted, a HR-level user has the ability to view and update the majority of information in the system, but cannot access the Company menu, which can only be accessed by administrators.
To restrict a HR user, go to:
Administration > HR > Company Users
People > Users
Click on the edit (pencil) icon next to the user you wish to edit.
There are various options available to restrict the access available to the HR user, these are found under the Permissions heading on this page.
User modules template - Here you can choose a module template which applies to the HR user. Module templates restrict the modules available to the user. Please see the following article for further information on module templates.
Restrict access to pay/benefits – If set to Yes, this user will not be able to view any salary or benefits information against any employees.
Hide rota cost? - If checked, the user will be unable to view cost information in the rotas module.
Read only access to employee file – If set to Yes, this user will only be able to view employee’s information and will not be able to adjust any of the information against the employee’s file.
Restrict Access to site(s) – If you tick any of the sites then the user will only have access to those sites - If you leave this blank, user will have access to all sites.
Restrict Access to companies - If you tick any of the companies then the user will only have access to those companies - If you leave this blank, user will have access to all companies.
Note: If either a site or company is selected, the HR menu functions will become unavailable to the user. This is to prevent the user from making changes which apply company-wide, ie outside of the site/company to which they have been restricted. You can choose to reinstate access to a number of these functions individually if desired - see the Restricted HR Data Management Access section below.
Apply manager restricted fields – If set to yes, this user will be subject to the same field restrictions which have been applied to managers in the system. For more information on manager restricted fields, visit the Manager Employee File Permissions article. These manager restricted fields are defined in Display Settings.
Apply manager module permissions – If set to yes, this user will be subject to the same module restrictions which have been applied to managers in the system. These manager module permissions are defined in Display Settings.
Restrict access to job level(s) – If these options have been selected, this user will only be able to view employees who are assigned to the respective job levels.
Hide delete icons - Setting this to Yes will hide the delete button from HR users in all tables.
Restricted HR Data Management Access
If you choose to restrict a HR user to selected sites or companies, the HR menu functions will become unavailable to the user. This is to prevent the user from making changes which apply company-wide, ie outside of the site/company to which they have been restricted.
You can choose to reinstate access to a number of these functions by checking the checkboxes user the Restricted HR Data Management Access heading.
The available options are:
- Announcements - Provides access to post and manage announcements.
- Bulk update - Provides access to bulk update timeoff allowances and salaries.
- Bulk upload - Provides access to bulk upload various items.
- Company users (restricted) - Provides access to manage the users within their site.
- Data management - Provides access to manage system data.
- Forms - Provides the ability to build and manage forms.
- Histories - Provides the ability to view and manage histories.
- Pages - Provides the ability to create and manage content pages.
- Timeoff management - Provides various functions to manage timeoff.
- Workflows - Provides the ability to build and manage workflows.