The following article refers to functionality available in Workflow builder, which can be accessed in one of the following locations, depending on your configuration:
Administration > HR > Workflows
Administration > HR > Workflows > Workflows
If you would like to either be notified of, or to require approval, when an employee deletes or cancels a Time Off request, you can use a Time Off Deletion Approval workflow to achieve this.
When building your workflow, you should choose the Category "Approval" and Type "Timeoff - deletion" as shown below:
You can choose to have the workflow trigger when any time off is deleted, any authorised or unauthorised time off, or a particular time off type or types.
You can also choose to apply the workflow when an employee deletes their Time off request, or when a manager/approver deletes a Time off request for an employee, or both:
As with other types of workflow, you can restrict this type of workflow by site, department etc. so that you can have different processes for different cohorts of employees:
You can also set the workflow to apply only to employees who have a certain length of service:
And finally choose whether the workflow will trigger only for people in manager roles:
When adding steps to the workflow, there are two key step types to consider:
- Require Approval
- Notify Only
If you include only "Notify Only" steps in the workflow, then the request will not require approval, and will be automatically approved when the workflow completes.
To add a "Require Approval" step set "Notify only?" to "No" and "Type" to "Require Approval":
To add a "Notify Only" step set "Notify only?" to "Yes"
For more information on Require Approval steps please refer to the following article:
When a employee chooses to delete a future-dated time off booking using Employee Self Service, or (depending on the choices made when setting up the workflow) a manager/approver deletes a time off request for an employee, a notice will appear informing that the record is pending deletion.
The status of the record will also change to Pending Deletion.
The request will remain in the Pending Deletion until status until the workflow is completed, either by actioning the Require Approval step(s) or by completing all of the Notify Only steps, at which time the time off request will be deleted. This is an irreversible process and once the record is deleted, it cannot be restored. If the Require Approval step in the workflow is Declined then the time off record will go back into the prior Approved state and will not be deleted from the system.
Please note: This type of workflow will only trigger when approved, future-dated time off records are deleted. It will not trigger if the time off record is past-dated, pending approval or declined.