The Natural HR system makes it possible to customise which modules are accessible to individual users or user groups via Module templates.
By default, all user levels will have access to the modules and features determined by navigating to:
Administration -> Company -> Settings -> Display settings
Under the Module Display section you can choose which modules are accessible, these will apply to all users depending on their level of access.
In this example, an employee level user can access the following:
- To dos
- Twitter feed
- Time tracking
- Employee pulse
You may decide that you do not want one or more of of your Natural HR employee level users to access one or more of these features. You can set up a module template to restrict which modules and or features are accessible to individual or groups of users by going to:
Administration -> Company -> Settings -> Module templates
This will display a list of module templates which have already been created. You can add a template by clicking on the 'Add' button at the bottom of the table, or, in the 'Actions' column, you can 'Edit', 'Delete' or 'Publish template' for an existing Module template.
You can also use the checkboxes to select multiple templates and the 'Bulk actions' dropdown at the bottom of the table to 'Archive' multiple templates.
Archived templates can be viewed by clicking on the 'Archived' link
After clicking on the 'Add' button, this will display a page with a blank 'Template name' and a series of checkboxes representing the various features and modules of the Natural HR system:
All of the modules which are selected will be accessible, those which are not selected will not be accessible.
Once you have made your choices, click Submit to save them and return to the list of available module templates.
You can then publish the template to users by clicking on 'Publish template' icon in the actions column:
On this page you can choose a selection method to determine which users the template is applied against. Choosing 'named users' will allow you to choose individual users by name, or all users. Choosing 'User Groups' will allow you to choose users by their user group (access level) such as Employees, HR Users, Administrators etc. Choosing 'Metadata' will allow you to choose a cohort of employees by the metadata we store against them. For example, you could choose to apply the template to all employees in a given site or department.
Once you have made your choices click 'Submit' to publish the module template against the employee(s).
It is also possible to apply an already existing module template against a specific employee by going to:
People -> Users
Administration -> HR -> Company users
Click on 'Edit' in the actions column for the desired employee
Choose the template in the 'user module templates' drop-down you want to apply to this level user and then click on the 'Submit' button.
The only feature left from the original features displayed in the Bullhorn tray, is the 'Todos' feature.
Please note: all other users will still have access to all of the original features.
In this example, Working patterns has been enabled in the Module display option in Company display settings
An Administrator, HR or Manager level user can apply/assign a Working pattern to an employee via the Employee file
You may not wish for the Manager level users to be able to apply or assign Working patterns to their team. In which case we will create a new Module template by going to:
Administration > Company > Settings > Module templates
This time, after clicking on the 'Add' button we have created a new Module template called Manager - no working patterns. All of the modules are selected with the exception of the 'Working patterns' module, so all except the Working patterns will be accessible.
After clicking on the 'Submit' button, we can now publish the Module template as before. To a named user or users
To a user group or groups
Or, if using the 'Metadata' option, to one or more Job roles, Departments, Managers etc
After publishing to the Managers user group, the Module template has been applied to all users in the Natural HR system who are manager level users. When a manager logs in and views a team member employee file, the Working patterns feature is no longer accessible in the Time and attendance section.
Please note: it is not possible to delete a Module template which has users assigned to it.
To remove the user(s) from the Module template go to:
People -> Users
Then select the user(s) which show the Module template applied then select 'No module template' from the Bulk actions menu option.
Please note: You can also select one or more users from the list and set the 'Module template' from this Bulk actions menu option