When using custom workflows, the workflow logic is defined by the set up of the workflow - for example who can complete a step, the due date and so on.
Sometimes you, as HR or administrator, may have a need to override some of these for various reasons - the setting "Allow triggered workflows to be updated" allows you to do this.
When you view a workflow, without this setting enabled, you will see something like the below example:
In the above example you can see that the first task is currently with the employee with a due date of 18/6/20 and has not yet been completed and, due to how the workflow is built, the second step has not yet triggered as it is dependant on the first. Until the employee completes this task, this will remain as is.
In Company Settings under Workflow settings, if you set "Allow triggered workflows to be updated" to yes, the view will change to the below:
Notice there are now various icons appearing next to the workflow tasks. These icons are:
Tick - this allows you to complete the workflow task.
Cross - this allows you to delete the task completely
Pencil - this allows you to change the due date of the task
Lock - this allows you to open up any step which is not yet opened by entering a due date
Without the employee or manager doing anything, the administrator has been able to complete the first step (if you hover over the green circle you will see who completed this, the date and any comment).
Please note: you can only manipulate workflow items which are not yet completed - once the individual step has been marked as completed you cannot modify it or delete it and so on.