We have recently added a feature that allows Employees to update their working status. Once set up this status can be edited by the Employee and viewed in a number of places including on the homepage for Admin / HR users, the Employee card for Managers, and via Directory for all other users.
To activate Employee Work Statuses you'll need to first set the defaults in Admin -> Company -> Settings -> Employee work statuses and tick the 'Enable employee status updates' field.
Additional statuses can then be added, enabled and restricted by Admin users only. (Please note Employee Work Status is different from Employee Status in the HR menu which is explained in this article here.)
When the Employee logs in a small arrow will display which gives them the option to edit their status.
Here they can choose their status and a timeframe to clear the status i.e End of day, End of week or Don't clear.
Please note if an Employee is away on Time off then the option to update their status will be hidden and they will show as 'Out of office - until (return date)' as usual.