As part of your Year End Process, you may wish to hide the time off option from your employees to stop them booking any further time off whilst you are processing and reviewing any carry over.
When you turn the module off - there is no data removed as part of that process. This simply stops the functionality being able to be accessed.
In this case you only want to stop non HR/Admin from accessing this so you need to go to Display settings within Administration > Company > Settings > Display Settings and then at the top under Module display there is an option called 'Do you want to display different modules via self service?' which you should set to YES.
Then under 'Self service modules' you will need to enable all the modules you still want employees and managers to be able to access except for time off - that means they can still use everything else except time off for that time but the data is still there.
Remove Time off from the selection and select Submit to apply the changes.
When you then want to turn on the module for everyone simply reselect the time off option and submit to change. If you no longer wish to use different modules within self service, you can amend the different display for self service setting back to no.